Tags

, , ,

Growing up I was a child of a single mother whom worked hard to put food on the table, clothes on my back and a roof over my head. She did everything possible so that I live a happy life and not miss my father. She would rally up all the kids in the family and take us on little adventures on the weekends. Those were all great memories but the one that I remember always more when its rainy and gloomy out is playing in the rain. One day when it was raining out (no thunder) I looked out the window and just wished I could go out and play I remember sitting by the window and just looking at the rain as it fell. She came to me and asked “what are you looking at?” I replied “look at the rain, I wish it could stop raining so we could do something” My mom looked at me and said “well why wait till it stops raining, let go out and play” to my amazement she grabbed me by my hand and dragged me outside and we began to play in the rain with my older cousin. That was one of the best days of my life as a kid. I could still hear us giggling and if I concentrate hard enough I could feel the rain fall on me. Its the little things that count and for me it stood out as the biggest and happiest event. And for that I love my mother!!

