Tags

, , , , , ,

So today is Friday the 13th. Sounds a bit spooky but only because I am a little superstitious. I started to read about Friday the 13 last year when me 10 year old had a bunch of questions so I did what a good mother does researched, made my own conclusions and then told her how I found and how I felt about the whole thing. Here’s what I found:  According to folklorists, there is no written evidence for a “Friday the 13th” superstition before the 19th century.The earliest known documented reference in English occurs in Henry Sutherland Edwards who died on a Friday 13th. In numerology, the number twelve is considered the number of completeness, as reflected in the twelve months of the year, twelve hours of the clock, twelve gods of Olympus, twelve tribes of Israel, twelve Apostles of Jesus, the 12 successors of Muhammad in Shia Islam, etc., whereas the number thirteen was considered irregular, transgressing this completeness. There is also a superstition, thought by some to derive from the Last Supper or a Norse myth, that having thirteen people seated at a table will result in the death of one of the diners. Friday has been considered an unlucky day at least since the 14th century’s The Canterbury Tales and many other professions have regarded Friday as an unlucky day to undertake journeys orbegin new projects. So when the 13th falls on a Friday it is said to be very unlucky. I also found articles on people who are extremely scared of Friday the 13th, the condition is called friggatriskaidekaphobia.  They miss work and stay home all day. These people are extremely scared of the day, its crazy!!  As for me nothing really bad has happened on such day I work , g home and go about my day.

