Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

deja_vuToday at work as I was explaining something to a patient I suddenly felt a little queasy and felt some déjà vu come on. It felt super wired because I felt like I had  said the same exact thing before but my mind was convinced that it hadn’t. I turned red and my face felt like it would explode of how hot it was. The feeling was so weird. Because I didn’t want to repeat myself and didn’t know what to say next, I started coughing to play it off. I was so embarrassed. This little episode got me thinking more about déjà vu and what it is. So of course I started doing some investigation thorough Google.

For those of you that dont know: The term déjà vu is French and means, literally, “already seen.” Those who have experienced the feeling describe it as an overwhelming sense of familiarity with something that shouldn’t be familiar at all. As much as 70 percent of the population reports having experienced some form of déjà vu. A higher number of incidents occurs in people 15 to 25 years old than in any other age group.

Then I found that there are three types of déjà vu

Deja Vecu (already experienced or lived through)

– Commonest
– Sensation of having done something or having been in an identical situation before and knowing what will happen next
– Frequently connected with very banal events
– Often clearly remembered for years following their occurrence

Deja Senti (already felt)

– There are no precognitive aspects in which the person feels he or she knows in advance what will be said or done
– The episodes quickly dissipate from memory
– Firmly associated with temporal-lobe epilepsy

Deja Visite (already visited)

– Rarer
– A person visits a new place and feels that it is familiar
– It may be that the person once read a detailed account of the place and has subsequently forgotten it.

However, it can be a mixed version with a combined déjà vu effect.

Interesting!
