Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Dont need oneI’ve always been independent. I’ve never felt the need to have a n man in my life so they could put a frame up, fix a leak, change a tire, mow the lawn Etc. My mother always took it upon herself to teach me to fend for myself in any situation and I’m sure glad I learned. On Friday I got home from work and mowed the lawn. My lawn is pretty big so it takes me a good hour and a half to mow. As I was out there one of my neighbor comes over to me to say hi. I stopped the mower and greeted her, she asked how I was doing and asked why I was mowing the lawn. I explained to her that I wasn’t going to sit around and wait for someone to do it. I thought she was going to die of how loud she gasped. Its like she couldn’t believe those words came out of my mouth. My ex husband and I were together since we were 14 years old and never did I wait for him to put up a frame, or do any heavy-duty work. I’ve always taken any duty as a challenge to learn and make myself better, and I’m proud of myself because now that he isn’t around I would have felt shitty not having a man around to do things like that for me. It even bothers me when I see a woman be so dependent on a man to do things for them. So thanks to my momma for showing me to be a woman that doesn’t need a man but wants a man in my life.

